Modern Education for Georgian Farmers

Jun 9, 2014

Niels Scott, Head of UNDP in Georgia discusses imporatance of the solid vocational training and extension system in Georgia. Photo: Vladimer Valishvili/UNDP

9 June 2014. Tbilisi. A new concept of the vocational training and extension system in agriculture is at the forefront of the first National Stakeholder Conference.

The two-day conference brings together policymakers, researchers, practitioners, civil society, academia, experts to share experience and discuss successes and challenges in the area of vocational education and extension services in agriculture.

The conference is organized by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) in cooperation with the Ministry of Agriculture of Georgia, Ministry of Education and Science of Georgia and Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC).

Shalva Pipia, Minister of Agriculture, Tamar Sanikidze, Minister of Education and Science of Georgia, Rudolf Schoch, SDC Regional Director, and Niels Scott, Head of the United Nations Development Programme in Georgia, opened the conference.

The Government of Georgia in close cooperation with UNDP and the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) works to boost professional education and vocational training in order to improve competitiveness, growth rate and job prospects of the rural population. The modern knowledge systems will be more responsive to the needs of the labour market to raise the skill levels of the agriculture workforce.

Contact information

Sophie Tchitchinadze, UNDP Georgia, +995 599 196907

UNDP Around the world

You are at UNDP Georgia 
Go to UNDP Global


Afghanistan Albania Algeria Angola Argentina Armenia Azerbaijan


Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belize Benin Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil Burkina Faso Burundi


Cambodia Cameroon Cape Verde Central African Republic Chad Chile China Colombia Comoros Congo (Dem. Republic of) Congo (Republic of) Costa Rica Cรดte d'Ivoire Croatia Cuba Cyprus


Democratic People's Republic of Korea Djibouti Dominican Republic


Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Ethiopia


Gabon Gambia Georgia Ghana Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana


Haiti Honduras


India Indonesia Iran Iraq (Republic of)


Jamaica Jordan


Kazakhstan Kenya Kosovo (as per UNSCR 1244) Kuwait Kyrgyzstan


Lao PDR Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya


Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Mauritania Mauritius & Seychelles Mexico Moldova Mongolia Montenegro Morocco Mozambique Myanmar


Namibia Nepal Nicaragua Niger Nigeria


Pacific Office Pakistan Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Programme of Assistance to the Palestinian People


Russian Federation Rwanda


Samoa (Multi-country Office) Sรฃo Tomรฉ and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Sierra Leone Somalia South Africa South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Swaziland Syria


Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Timor-Leste Togo Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan


Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates Uruguay Uzbekistan


Venezuela Viet Nam




Zambia Zimbabwe