The Return of Colchis Pheasants

Jun 6, 2014

Niels Scott, Head of UNDP in Georgia and Shalva Amirejibi, Deputy Minister of Environment and Natural Resources Protection of Georgia let Colchis Pheasants into the wild. Photo: Vladimer valishvili/UNDP Georgia

6 June. 2014. An incubator and breeding centre for hatching endangered Colchis Pheasant was opened in the Vashlovani Protected Areas.

Shalva Amirejibi, Deputy Minister of Environment and Natural Resources Protection of Georgia, Niels Scott, Head of UNDP in Georgia, and Rati Japaridze, Chairman of the Agency of Protected Areas attended.

In 2014 and 2015, over 1,000 species of Colchis Pheasants will be brought back to their habitat โ€“ the natural monument Eagle Valley, Kolkheti National Park, Ivri, Alazani and Mtkvari floodplain. Pheasants will be also handed over to the local households for care and breeding. The incubator is equipped with solar panels to guarantee an unimpeded operation. It also includes special areas for baby pheasants and grown-up species.

The incubator is established by the local organization โ€œFriends Association of Vashlovani Protected Areasโ€ with funds from the UNDP/GEF Small Grants Programme and the additional co-funding from Mercy Corps, GIZ, Agency of Protected Areas and hunting farms.

The opening of the incubator is part of the World Environment Day campaign My Environment organised jointly by the Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources Protection of Georgia and UNDP. My Environment events will roll on in June and July 2014 in different regions of the country.

Contact information

Sophie Tchitchinadze, UNDP in Georgia,, +995 599 196907 (cell)

Maia Sikharulidze, Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources Protection of Georgia,, +995 577 343355 (cell)

UNDP Around the world

You are at UNDP Georgia 
Go to UNDP Global


Afghanistan Albania Algeria Angola Argentina Armenia Azerbaijan


Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belize Benin Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil Burkina Faso Burundi


Cambodia Cameroon Cape Verde Central African Republic Chad Chile China Colombia Comoros Congo (Dem. Republic of) Congo (Republic of) Costa Rica Cรดte d'Ivoire Croatia Cuba Cyprus


Democratic People's Republic of Korea Djibouti Dominican Republic


Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Ethiopia


Gabon Gambia Georgia Ghana Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana


Haiti Honduras


India Indonesia Iran Iraq (Republic of)


Jamaica Jordan


Kazakhstan Kenya Kosovo (as per UNSCR 1244) Kuwait Kyrgyzstan


Lao PDR Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya


Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Mauritania Mauritius & Seychelles Mexico Moldova Mongolia Montenegro Morocco Mozambique Myanmar


Namibia Nepal Nicaragua Niger Nigeria


Pacific Office Pakistan Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Programme of Assistance to the Palestinian People


Russian Federation Rwanda


Samoa (Multi-country Office) Sรฃo Tomรฉ and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Sierra Leone Somalia South Africa South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Swaziland Syria


Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Timor-Leste Togo Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan


Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates Uruguay Uzbekistan


Venezuela Viet Nam




Zambia Zimbabwe