Georgia joins Earth Hour 2014

Mar 29, 2014

Niels Scott, Head of UNDP in Georgia, and Khatuna Gogaladze, Minister of Environment and Natural Resources Protection of Georgia, celebrate Earth Hour 2014 in front of the UN House. Photo: David Khizanishvili/UNDP

On Saturday, 29 March 2014, the Round Garden in Tbilisi hosted a traditional celebration of Earth Hour, the worldโ€™s largest environmental action when millions of people turn off their lights for greener and safer future of the planet.

The celebration in the Round Garden, in front of the United Nations House, was open to everyone who wanted to show their support to Earth Hour in Georgia. Representatives of the Georgian Government, international organizations, civil society, students, children, joutnalists and musicians got together for an hour with candle-light and live music.

The event was organised by the United Nations in Georgia, the Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources Protection of Georgia and the Caucasus Environmental NGO Network (CENN).

Georgia joined Earth Hour for the sixth time this year. The landmarks in Tbilisi that went dark on 29 March included: the Peace Bridge, Narikala fortress, St. George monument on Freedom Square, Rustaveli and Aghmashenebeli avenues, Youth Palace, Shota Rustaveli Theatre, municipal and governmental offices, Presidential Palace, United Nations House.

Earth Hour was also celebrated in Batumi, Kutaisi and the other cities and regions of Georgia.

Contact information

Sophie Tchitchinadze, UNDP in Georgia,, +995 599 196907

Maia Sikharulidze, Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources Protection of Georgia,, +995 577 343355

Natalia Partskhaladze, CENN,, +995 595 117477

UNDP Around the world

You are at UNDP Georgia 
Go to UNDP Global


Afghanistan Albania Algeria Angola Argentina Armenia Azerbaijan


Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belize Benin Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil Burkina Faso Burundi


Cambodia Cameroon Cape Verde Central African Republic Chad Chile China Colombia Comoros Congo (Dem. Republic of) Congo (Republic of) Costa Rica Cรดte d'Ivoire Croatia Cuba Cyprus


Democratic People's Republic of Korea Djibouti Dominican Republic


Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Ethiopia


Gabon Gambia Georgia Ghana Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana


Haiti Honduras


India Indonesia Iran Iraq (Republic of)


Jamaica Jordan


Kazakhstan Kenya Kosovo (as per UNSCR 1244) Kuwait Kyrgyzstan


Lao PDR Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya


Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Mauritania Mauritius & Seychelles Mexico Moldova Mongolia Montenegro Morocco Mozambique Myanmar


Namibia Nepal Nicaragua Niger Nigeria


Pacific Office Pakistan Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Programme of Assistance to the Palestinian People


Russian Federation Rwanda


Samoa (Multi-country Office) Sรฃo Tomรฉ and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Sierra Leone Somalia South Africa South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Swaziland Syria


Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Timor-Leste Togo Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan


Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates Uruguay Uzbekistan


Venezuela Viet Nam




Zambia Zimbabwe