Georgia Advances in Human Rights

Feb 13, 2014

From left to right: Niels Scott, UN Resident Coordinator; Thea Tsulukiani, Minister of Justice; Irakli Gharibashvili, Prime Minister; Thomas Hammarberg, EU Special Adviser; Tamar Chugoshvili, Assistant to Prime Minister. Photo: Vladimer Valishvili/UNDP

TBILISI. 13 February 2014 - The protection and promotion of human rights in Georgia will be guided by the National Strategy and Action Plan. These critical documents were presented on 13 February 2014 at the conference organised by the Government of Georgia with assistance from the European Union, UNDP and the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR).

Irakli Garibashvili, Prime Minister of Georgia, Tea Tsulukiani, Minister of Justice of Georgia, Niels Scott, Head of the United Nations in Georgia, and Thomas Hammarberg, EU Special Adviser on Constitutional and Legal Reform and Human Rights in Georgia, addressed the participants at the opening session.

Tamar Chugoshvili, Assistant to the Prime Minister on Human Rights and Gender Equality Issues presented the Action Plan which describes the Governmentโ€™s activities in 2014-2015 in the area of human rights. The Action Plan is designed as a flexible and dynamic document and will be approved by the Government of Georgia.

The preparations for developing the National Strategy and Action Plan in Human Rights were launched by the Government of Georgia last December. Consultations over these critical national documents brought together Government agencies, Parliament, civil society, international organizations, and the people of Georgia.

Public discussion on different areas of the Strategy is open at the website:

Contact information

Sophie Tchitchinadze, UNDP in Georgia, +599 196907,

Ana Gochashvili, Government Chancellery, +599 999908,


UNDP Around the world

You are at UNDP Georgia 
Go to UNDP Global


Afghanistan Albania Algeria Angola Argentina Armenia Azerbaijan


Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belize Benin Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil Burkina Faso Burundi


Cambodia Cameroon Cape Verde Central African Republic Chad Chile China Colombia Comoros Congo (Dem. Republic of) Congo (Republic of) Costa Rica Cรดte d'Ivoire Croatia Cuba Cyprus


Democratic People's Republic of Korea Djibouti Dominican Republic


Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Ethiopia


Gabon Gambia Georgia Ghana Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana


Haiti Honduras


India Indonesia Iran Iraq (Republic of)


Jamaica Jordan


Kazakhstan Kenya Kosovo (as per UNSCR 1244) Kuwait Kyrgyzstan


Lao PDR Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya


Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Mauritania Mauritius & Seychelles Mexico Moldova Mongolia Montenegro Morocco Mozambique Myanmar


Namibia Nepal Nicaragua Niger Nigeria


Pacific Office Pakistan Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Programme of Assistance to the Palestinian People


Russian Federation Rwanda


Samoa (Multi-country Office) Sรฃo Tomรฉ and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Sierra Leone Somalia South Africa South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Swaziland Syria


Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Timor-Leste Togo Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan


Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates Uruguay Uzbekistan


Venezuela Viet Nam




Zambia Zimbabwe