International Human Rights Day Statement by the Ambassadorial Working Group

Dec 10, 2013

Today, we not only celebrate Human Rights Day, but the 20th anniversary of the Vienna Declaration and Programme of Action, which marked the beginning of a renewed international effort to protect and promote human rights. This year, we also celebrate the 60th anniversary of the entry into force of the European Convention on Human Rights.

Human rights and fundamental freedoms are the birthright of all human beings. But unless we demand they be respected, and unless we defend our rights and freedoms, they will be just words.

Along with Georgia, we share a common desire to protect, promote and uphold human rights. It is the responsibility of every State to develop and encourage respect for human rights without discrimination on any ground such as sex, race, colour, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, association with a national minority, property, birth or other status. States that respect human rights are more stable, secure and prosperous as a result.

Georgia has ratified a number of key United Nations and Council of Europe conventions. We continue to encourage the implementation of such conventions. In this connection, we welcome in particular the plans for a human rights strategy and anti-discrimination law, implementation of which will increase the protection of persons belonging to minority groups and look forward to further efforts to promote and protect the principles of equal rights for all, tolerance, democracy, justice and the rule of law.

UNDP Around the world

You are at UNDP Georgia 
Go to UNDP Global


Afghanistan Albania Algeria Angola Argentina Armenia Azerbaijan


Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belize Benin Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil Burkina Faso Burundi


Cambodia Cameroon Cape Verde Central African Republic Chad Chile China Colombia Comoros Congo (Dem. Republic of) Congo (Republic of) Costa Rica Cรดte d'Ivoire Croatia Cuba Cyprus


Democratic People's Republic of Korea Djibouti Dominican Republic


Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Ethiopia


Gabon Gambia Georgia Ghana Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana


Haiti Honduras


India Indonesia Iran Iraq (Republic of)


Jamaica Jordan


Kazakhstan Kenya Kosovo (as per UNSCR 1244) Kuwait Kyrgyzstan


Lao PDR Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya


Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Mauritania Mauritius & Seychelles Mexico Moldova Mongolia Montenegro Morocco Mozambique Myanmar


Namibia Nepal Nicaragua Niger Nigeria


Pacific Office Pakistan Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Programme of Assistance to the Palestinian People


Russian Federation Rwanda


Samoa (Multi-country Office) Sรฃo Tomรฉ and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Sierra Leone Somalia South Africa South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Swaziland Syria


Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Timor-Leste Togo Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan


Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates Uruguay Uzbekistan


Venezuela Viet Nam




Zambia Zimbabwe