Elections and the Media

Oct 3, 2013

From Left to Right: Helga Pender, Delegation of the European Union to Georgia, Inita Paulovica, UNDP Resident Representative a.i. in Georgia, Boris Iarochevitch, Deputy Head of the European Union Delegation to Georgia

TBILISI. 3 October 2013 โ€“ Four Georgian non-governmental organizations presented intermediate results of a pre-election media monitoring.

At a press conference on 3 October 2013, CRRC Georgia, Internews โ€“ Georgia, International Society for Fair Elections and Democracy (ISFED), and the Civic Development Institute (CDI), presented key findings in the areas of impartial reporting, and balanced and analytical coverage of the presidential candidates.

They also introduced a revamped website www.mediamonitor.ge with new functions for data analysis which allows users to do their own research.

Pre-election media monitoring runs with assistance from the European Union and UNDP. Kicked off in May 2013, the monitoring focuses on the coverage of the October 2013 presidential elections in Georgia and examines some 40 media outlets, including television, radio, printed press and the online media.

"We believe that media monitoring was one of the factors to push forward positive changes in the Georgian media landscape โ€“ stronger links with the public, more accountability to the audience. It is also an effective tool for the media itself. It provides an objective and credible data which both public and the media can use to assist the development of professional and free media, " Said Inita Paulovica, UNDP Resident Representative a.i.  in Georgia.

Regular updates and monthly reports are available at the website: www.mediamonitor.ge and the Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/mediamonitor.ge.

Contact information

Sophie Tchitchinadze, UNDP in Georgia, 599 196907 (mobile), Sophie.Tchitchinadze@undp.org

Tamar Mikadze, European Union Delegation to Georgia, +995 32 2943763, Tamriko.Mikadze@eeas.europa.eu

UNDP Around the world

You are at UNDP Georgia 
Go to UNDP Global


Afghanistan Albania Algeria Angola Argentina Armenia Azerbaijan


Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belize Benin Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil Burkina Faso Burundi


Cambodia Cameroon Cape Verde Central African Republic Chad Chile China Colombia Comoros Congo (Dem. Republic of) Congo (Republic of) Costa Rica Cรดte d'Ivoire Croatia Cuba Cyprus


Democratic People's Republic of Korea Djibouti Dominican Republic


Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Ethiopia


Gabon Gambia Georgia Ghana Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana


Haiti Honduras


India Indonesia Iran Iraq (Republic of)


Jamaica Jordan


Kazakhstan Kenya Kosovo (as per UNSCR 1244) Kuwait Kyrgyzstan


Lao PDR Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya


Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Mauritania Mauritius & Seychelles Mexico Moldova Mongolia Montenegro Morocco Mozambique Myanmar


Namibia Nepal Nicaragua Niger Nigeria


Pacific Office Pakistan Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Programme of Assistance to the Palestinian People


Russian Federation Rwanda


Samoa (Multi-country Office) Sรฃo Tomรฉ and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Sierra Leone Somalia South Africa South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Swaziland Syria


Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Timor-Leste Togo Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan


Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates Uruguay Uzbekistan


Venezuela Viet Nam




Zambia Zimbabwe