Earth Hour 2013

Mar 23, 2013

Candles display Earth Hour logo "60+" as the UN House in Tbilisi goes dark. Photo: David Khizanishvili/UNDP

TBILISI. 23 March 2013 - Georgia joined Earth Hour for the fifth time this year with a massive campaign that brought together civil society, businesses, international organizations, government agencies, students and individual citizens.

Key buildings and public places in Tbilisi, Batumi, Rustavi, Gori, Kutaisi, Zugdidi, Bolnisi, Tkibuli and Telavi went dark for an hour on 23 March, including: Tbilisi TV Broadcasting Tower, Peace Bridge, Narikala fortress, Rustaveli and Aghmashenebeli avenues in Tbilisi, municipal buildings, UN House, Sheraton hotels, and many more.

Speaking to the journalists at the candle-light event in front of the UN House in Tbilisi, Inita Paulovica, Deputy Head of UNDP in Georgia said:

"We are happy to see the increased participation and engagement in Georgia. This year, the list of Earth Hour supporters includes businesses, civil society, international organizations, government agencies, students and individual citizens. It is especially encouraging to see a lot of young people around. We welcome everyone who thinks that it’s important to join and to use 60 minutes of darkness to help the world see the light."

The list of Earth Hour organisers and supporters included: Ministry of  Environment of Georgia; Ministry of Energy of Georgia; Tbilisi City Hall; United Nations; Caucasus Environmental NGO Network (CENN); the leading business companies – Sheraton; New Light; Gulf; Beeline; media outlets – Georgia Today, Radio City; Radio Jazz FM.

By switching off lights for 60 minutes, the campaign participants showed their support to Earth Hour – the largest environmental voluntary action for a greener and safer world.

Contact information

Sophie Tchitchinadze, UNDP Georgia:, 599 196907

UNDP Around the world

You are at UNDP Georgia 
Go to UNDP Global