New kindergarten opens in Nokalakevi

Mar 6, 2013

A new kindergarten opens with children's concert. Photo: Tsira Kakubava/UNDP

ZUGDIDI. 6 March 2013. A new kindergarten in Nokalakevi, Senaki district will serve more than 40 children, many of them from the displaced families.

The Head of UNDP in Georgia, Jamie McGoldrick, and the Head of Senaki Municipality, Tengiz Adamia, attended the opening of a new kindergarten and met with teachers, children and parents.

"Better future starts with better education and better life for our children. That is why local residents named a new kindergarten among their most pressing needs," Jamie McGoldrick said.

The construction of a kindergarten was agreed by the local residents at the community meetings facilitated by UNDP.

UNDP took a lead in organising the construction process with funds from the Government of Norway and financial contributions from the Senaki Municipality.

UNDP has been assisting the region of Samegrelo since 2010 with up to USD 3 million in funding from the government of Norway. UNDPโ€™s support focuses on social and economic security of the displaced and their host communities.

With the aim to boost the regionโ€™s economy and increase the quality of life for all, UNDP is assisting professional education, agriculture and business development.

The list of UNDP-supported social infrastructure and community initiatives includes repairing of the water supply system and rehabilitation of kindergartens and sport sites in the municipalities of Khobi, Senaki, Tsalenjikha and Poti.

Working closely with the local authorities and people, UNDP also helped to compile development plans for 51 communities and three municipalities โ€“ Khobi, Senaki and Tsalenjikha.

More than 80 thousand people in Samegrelo have benefitted from the UNDPโ€™s programme since 2010.

Contact information

Sophie Tchitchinadze, UNDP Georgia, 599 196907,

UNDP Around the world

You are at UNDP Georgia 
Go to UNDP Global


Afghanistan Albania Algeria Angola Argentina Armenia Azerbaijan


Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belize Benin Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil Burkina Faso Burundi


Cambodia Cameroon Cape Verde Central African Republic Chad Chile China Colombia Comoros Congo (Dem. Republic of) Congo (Republic of) Costa Rica Cรดte d'Ivoire Croatia Cuba Cyprus


Democratic People's Republic of Korea Djibouti Dominican Republic


Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Ethiopia


Gabon Gambia Georgia Ghana Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana


Haiti Honduras


India Indonesia Iran Iraq (Republic of)


Jamaica Jordan


Kazakhstan Kenya Kosovo (as per UNSCR 1244) Kuwait Kyrgyzstan


Lao PDR Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya


Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Mauritania Mauritius & Seychelles Mexico Moldova Mongolia Montenegro Morocco Mozambique Myanmar


Namibia Nepal Nicaragua Niger Nigeria


Pacific Office Pakistan Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Programme of Assistance to the Palestinian People


Russian Federation Rwanda


Samoa (Multi-country Office) Sรฃo Tomรฉ and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Sierra Leone Somalia South Africa South Sudan Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Swaziland Syria


Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Timor-Leste Togo Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan


Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates Uruguay Uzbekistan


Venezuela Viet Nam




Zambia Zimbabwe